Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
Decisions decisions . . .
04-27-2013, 05:50 AM
Decisions decisions . . .
Hello. I'm new here, on the verge of confirming my shopping basket of a 5D and 2x3TB drives to start me off, but I have a few questions.

I am a professional photographer looking for a performance system to speed up my editing time and also provide me with the piece of mind that all my clients images are fully backed up. I've used raid before, so understand the basics, but what I'm really looking for is an option to allow me offsite back up.

My thought was that I'd buy a 3rd and 4th 3TB drives, back up onto one and store it off site and each month just update swap them, keeping one no more than 1 month out of date offsite for protection.

Is this possible in the 5D? I don't want the extra drives to provide me with extra raid storage, just as offsite back up . . . . . I've spent weeks searching the net and seem to be missing the useful info.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Many thanks

Owen

ps. You all sound like a nice crowd, but I want to point out that I am a real person and not a spammer, so please don't dm me abuse as I've had as a virgin poster on similar forums, it's not nice Big Grin
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-27-2013, 08:16 AM (This post was last modified: 04-27-2013 08:23 AM by rdo.)
RE: Decisions decisions . . .
Welcome!
The 5D is a great device, but it might not be quite what you expect. I don't know if you'll be pleasantly surprised, or frustrated.

1) The real joy of Drobo is that you can add or upgrade drives for more space as you need it. If you're buying "all the space you need" up front, and won't add another 3TB drive for more capacity each year, then this feature won't help you.