Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Defragmenting on Drobo 5D
12-10-2012, 01:25 PM
Post: #1
Question Defragmenting on Drobo 5D
Had my Drobo 5D up and running for about a week now. Loving the room (5x2TB SATA-III drives). Smile

I have had Raxco PerfectDisk running on my machine since we bought it (about 2 years ago). I just noticed that it was running optimization on it. Should I allow PerfectDisk to do optimization/defragmentation on the Drobo, or are there features like this built in?

Drobo5D | 5 x 2TB Seagate ST2000DM001, 1 64GB Crucial M4-CT064M4SSD3 mSATA
Drobo B800i | 8 x 2TB Western Digital SATA | iSCSI | Veeam Backups
Drobo B1200i | 4 x 2TB ST2000NM0001, 5 x 4TB ST4000NM0023, 3 x 200GB OCZ Talos SSD | iSCSI | Veeam Backups, vSphere HA Heartbeat and VM Templates
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-10-2012, 01:27 PM
Post: #2
RE: Defragmenting on Drobo 5D
I doubt defragmentation has any meaning in a Thin Provisioning world, and could potentially cause problems. I wouldn't advise it.

Drobo 5N | 250GB Samsung 850 EVO mSATA | 2 x 4TB Seagate, 3 x 4TB Hitachi | FS/EXT3 diskpack
Peak performance >100MBps read/write (based on FS disk pack, no jumbo frames, no SSD)
DroboPorts: Plex, Transmission, OpenSSH, NFS, nano, screen, bash
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-10-2012, 01:28 PM (This post was last modified: 12-10-2012 01:50 PM by Paul.)
Post: #3
RE: Defragmenting on Drobo 5D
if you have an option to stop it from running defrag on a drobo, stop it for now.
im not sure about a 5d, but other models should "not" have a defrag run on them (they do it internally)
edit: ("what he said") Smile
(i forgot to say welcome to the boards Smile

(btw i have XP home SP2, a Drobo v1 with 2x 1TB/2x 1.5TB WD greens, & a bkp Drobo v2 with the same + a DroboShare: unused)
& a DroboS v2 with 3xWD15EADS &2x1TB in DDR mode on win7, & a drobo5D (all usb)
  • btw i did a sustained (write) operation for about 6 hours, and got 13.2MB / sec ...objection? "sustained" :)
    (16.7MB/s on a v2 & 47-96MB/s drobo-s)
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-13-2012, 12:22 PM
Post: #4
RE: Defragmenting on Drobo 5D
You shouldn't defrag the Drobo, but we do recommend running volume repair tools like Check Disk or Disk Utility periodically to fix any possible file system errors. This is especially important after a an event that causes an unsafe dismount of the volume, like a computer crash or power outage.

Sky
Data Robotics Moderator

Support # 1-866-426-4280
Monday - Thursday 6a-7p PST
Friday and Saturday 6a-12a PST
Sunday 6a-6p PST

Best Practices
http://www.drobo.com/downloads/docs/drob...http://www.drobo.com/downloads/docs/drobobestpra

Knowledge Base
http://www.drobo.com/support/knowledgebase.php
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-13-2012, 12:31 PM
Post: #5
RE: Defragmenting on Drobo 5D
(12-13-2012 12:22 PM)Sky Wrote:  You shouldn't defrag the Drobo, but we do recommend running volume repair tools like Check Disk or Disk Utility periodically to fix any possible file system errors. This is especially important after a an event that causes an unsafe dismount of the volume, like a computer crash or power outage.

Thank you for that advice. I'll be sure to follow that going forward. Smile
-cfvonner

Drobo5D | 5 x 2TB Seagate ST2000DM001, 1 64GB Crucial M4-CT064M4SSD3 mSATA
Drobo B800i | 8 x 2TB Western Digital SATA | iSCSI | Veeam Backups
Drobo B1200i | 4 x 2TB ST2000NM0001, 5 x 4TB ST4000NM0023, 3 x 200GB OCZ Talos SSD | iSCSI | Veeam Backups, vSphere HA Heartbeat and VM Templates
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Forum Jump: