Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Mac and DroboShare : Rename Volumes
04-09-2011, 03:17 PM
Post: #1
Mac and DroboShare : Rename Volumes
Is there anyway to resize or rename my DroboShare volumes?

Using EXT3 with two 2TB volumes.

I figure the answer is no to resize but certainly there is a way to rename them. Somehow when I added additional storage my 2nd volume got named M. Just the letter M. I don't even remember it asking for a name.

I obviously hate having a volume called M.

Is there an easy way to fix this? What's the hard way?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-09-2011, 07:42 PM
Post: #2
RE: Mac and DroboShare : Rename Volumes
The only way to resize a volume on the Drobo is to reformat to a larger size, this will cause data loss.

You can rename the volume in Drobo Dashboard Advanced Controls - Tools - Rename Drobo and Volumes

Kurt B
DRI Moderator
US#866-426-4280
M-Th 6am-7pm PST, F & Sa 6am-12am PST, Su 6am-6pm PST
EU Support http://www.drobo.com/support/phone-support.php
Best Practices http://www.drobo.com/support/best_practices.php
KB/FAQ http://www.drobo.com/support/knowledgebase.php
Open a Support Case http://support.datarobotics.com/app/utils/login_form
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-09-2011, 08:06 PM
Post: #3
RE: Mac and DroboShare : Rename Volumes
(04-09-2011 07:42 PM)kbradley Wrote:  You can rename the volume in Drobo Dashboard Advanced Controls - Tools - Rename Drobo and Volumes

I only get the option to rename the disk pack. It does not give me a chance to rename the individual volumes.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-09-2011, 08:21 PM
Post: #4
RE: Mac and DroboShare : Rename Volumes
You can turn off the Drobo and directly connect it to your computer to rename the volume.

Kurt B
DRI Moderator
US#866-426-4280
M-Th 6am-7pm PST, F & Sa 6am-12am PST, Su 6am-6pm PST
EU Support http://www.drobo.com/support/phone-support.php
Best Practices http://www.drobo.com/support/best_practices.php
KB/FAQ http://www.drobo.com/support/knowledgebase.php
Open a Support Case http://support.datarobotics.com/app/utils/login_form
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-10-2011, 03:02 PM
Post: #5
RE: Mac and DroboShare : Rename Volumes
(04-09-2011 08:21 PM)kbradley Wrote:  You can turn off the Drobo and directly connect it to your computer to rename the volume.

Since I don't have native EXT3 support on Mac, will I be able to do this? The DroboDashboard still functions the same. I have macfuse so I can read the disks but rename volumes only let's me rename the disk pack.

Is it possible for me to rename them from Ubuntu without the dashboard?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-10-2011, 03:04 PM
Post: #6
RE: Mac and DroboShare : Rename Volumes
You will have to connect it to a Linux box to rename the volume. I do not know if you can rename the volume without Dashboard. I would check the documentation on Linux to see how to rename the volume.

Kurt B
DRI Moderator
US#866-426-4280
M-Th 6am-7pm PST, F & Sa 6am-12am PST, Su 6am-6pm PST
EU Support http://www.drobo.com/support/phone-support.php
Best Practices http://www.drobo.com/support/best_practices.php
KB/FAQ http://www.drobo.com/support/knowledgebase.php
Open a Support Case http://support.datarobotics.com/app/utils/login_form
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-10-2011, 04:57 PM
Post: #7
RE: Mac and DroboShare : Rename Volumes
(04-10-2011 03:04 PM)kbradley Wrote:  You will have to connect it to a Linux box to rename the volume. I do not know if you can rename the volume without Dashboard. I would check the documentation on Linux to see how to rename the volume.

I was able to rename it with a program called e2label. Thanks for your help.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-10-2011, 06:04 PM
Post: #8
RE: Mac and DroboShare : Rename Volumes
Good to hear that you were successful.

Kurt B
DRI Moderator
US#866-426-4280
M-Th 6am-7pm PST, F & Sa 6am-12am PST, Su 6am-6pm PST
EU Support http://www.drobo.com/support/phone-support.php
Best Practices http://www.drobo.com/support/best_practices.php
KB/FAQ http://www.drobo.com/support/knowledgebase.php
Open a Support Case http://support.datarobotics.com/app/utils/login_form
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Forum Jump: