Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Any way to clone drobo 5N to my new 5N2 easily?
04-04-2017, 10:29 AM
Post: #1
Any way to clone drobo 5N to my new 5N2 easily?
Found out the hard way that my 5N was built on the previous file system so I have the 16TB limit.

Now I need to create a new pack on my Drobo 5N2 and duplicate everything to it.

1 - If I go through my computer I will introduce a threat of a major point of failure, and cut the transfer time in more than half (i/o over a single gigabit port). I will also alter all of my file creation dates which i do not want.

2 - Someone said I could use Bittorent sync to go straight from one drobo to the other, but the process is unintuitive so far.

3 - some suggest rclone for similar tasks, but that is even less intuitive. I really want something simple and quick.

Anyone have any other ideas, or at least a link to the procedures for making either of the above options simpler?

Thanks!
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-04-2017, 12:39 PM
Post: #2
RE: Any way to clone drobo 5N to my new 5N2 easily?
You could always use ROBOCOPY.

c:\robocopy.exe <source> <destination> /COPYALL /MIR /DCOPY:T /TEE /E /W:5 /R:1 /ETA /LOG:"C:\migrate.log"

You're still bound to the read/write over a single NIC slowdown but that'll preserve file/folder integrity.

Unfortunately, I can't speak to the other options.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-04-2017, 08:36 PM
Post: #3
RE: Any way to clone drobo 5N to my new 5N2 easily?
Thanks for the tip. I suppose that beats Windows or OSX native copy function. Will report back if I find a way because I am sure others will need to do the same procedure.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-05-2017, 10:38 AM
Post: #4
RE: Any way to clone drobo 5N to my new 5N2 easily?
hi sbushman, if you have windows, you might be able to try a test run with a small set of backed up files using one of the tools in the Syncback range. (i suggest using a smaller set of data that is backed up first, just to help while you become familiar with it, rather than fully automating anything just yet)

i use syncback se, in essentially what is mainly a (reconfigured) mirror right profile, in a semi-automatic fashion, and its worked fine for at least 50 runs, when i make backups myself, and while i havent had to specifically look out to preserve file dates, there are several options regarding dates, and there was a free version too that might be worth a go?

(btw i have XP home SP2, a Drobo v1 with 2x 1TB/2x 1.5TB WD greens, & a bkp Drobo v2 with the same + a DroboShare: unused)
& a DroboS v2 with 3xWD15EADS &2x1TB in DDR mode on win7, & a drobo5D (all usb)
  • btw i did a sustained (write) operation for about 6 hours, and got 13.2MB / sec ...objection? "sustained" :)
    (16.7MB/s on a v2 & 47-96MB/s drobo-s)
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-05-2017, 02:58 PM
Post: #5
RE: Any way to clone drobo 5N to my new 5N2 easily?
I'm using the bittorent sync app on the drobos right now, and it's not "too" bad. It's preserving my file creation dates which is good, but it's going really slow. Looks like it will be copying for a week. The other benefit is that I can shut my computers down without interrupting the process. Seems it could still be a lot simpler though.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-10-2017, 03:03 PM
Post: #6
RE: Any way to clone drobo 5N to my new 5N2 easily?
ah ok, its good if you got a way forward Smile

(btw i have XP home SP2, a Drobo v1 with 2x 1TB/2x 1.5TB WD greens, & a bkp Drobo v2 with the same + a DroboShare: unused)
& a DroboS v2 with 3xWD15EADS &2x1TB in DDR mode on win7, & a drobo5D (all usb)
  • btw i did a sustained (write) operation for about 6 hours, and got 13.2MB / sec ...objection? "sustained" :)
    (16.7MB/s on a v2 & 47-96MB/s drobo-s)
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-10-2017, 03:21 PM
Post: #7
RE: Any way to clone drobo 5N to my new 5N2 easily?
The bittorent thing worked but was AWFULLY slow (like max 20 MB/s and average much lower) so I abandoned it. I have been using carbon copy cloner, on my Mac, and it is a lot better. Oddly, some folders are giving me "last modified" dates of the current date rather than the original, while others have retained the original dates. Not sure why, but I guess if that's my biggest complaint I'll live with it.

The good news is, I'll be on the new file system going forward, so I can grow my drobo up to 64TB in size. I am expecting a little bit better performance too, due to the new file system.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-13-2017, 12:40 PM
Post: #8
RE: Any way to clone drobo 5N to my new 5N2 easily?
I'm still considering a 5N2.

It would be nice if they integrated rsync into the embedded linux.

That would solve issues like this easily as rsync is optimized for tasks like this.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-13-2017, 09:41 PM
Post: #9
RE: Any way to clone drobo 5N to my new 5N2 easily?
They have drobo DR that works similarly but only with 5N2 or 810N.

They have the bittorent sync in the default apps, but WOW is it slow, for absolutely no reason. It does operate over the network, independent of any client like rsync would though.

Using Carbon Copy cloner on OSX was fast and worked pretty nicely, but I have the folder date problem where all of my folders are being re-dated to the current date. I can't dig that. I copied some of the more important directories off onto a USB drive and will try copying them back over to the drobo in the hopes that the dates stick this time.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-14-2017, 01:42 PM
Post: #10
RE: Any way to clone drobo 5N to my new 5N2 easily?
hi sbushman, i had a look and i think you will be able to preserve dates like created and modified, via a compression tool like winrar.

for example, if you create a compressed archive of a folder, (but without any actual compression to speed up the process), when you extract it, it can maintain dates, as mentioned here:
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/WinRAR
( "Optional file time stamp preservation: creation, last access, high precision modification times." )

(btw i have XP home SP2, a Drobo v1 with 2x 1TB/2x 1.5TB WD greens, & a bkp Drobo v2 with the same + a DroboShare: unused)
& a DroboS v2 with 3xWD15EADS &2x1TB in DDR mode on win7, & a drobo5D (all usb)
  • btw i did a sustained (write) operation for about 6 hours, and got 13.2MB / sec ...objection? "sustained" :)
    (16.7MB/s on a v2 & 47-96MB/s drobo-s)
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Forum Jump: