Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
Drobo Life Expectancy?
02-27-2017, 06:56 PM
Drobo Life Expectancy?
I'm a PhD student, so not a lot of money, but I'm interested in a 5C. What kind of life expectancy does a Drobo have? 5 years? 10? The 1-yr warranty kind of gives me pause, so I'm wondering.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
02-28-2017, 02:17 AM
RE: Drobo Life Expectancy?
I would guess about 2+ years. If the device is 5+ years old you would probably not buy Drobo care to solve any issues. 10 years... Lets hope USB-Type-C is still around then. Smile

Drobo B810n & 5N: Samsung 840 SSD | Plextor 64GB SSD | WD Red 6TB | WD Red 4TB | Hitachi Deskstar 4TB
DroboPorts: OpenSSH, BTSync
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
02-28-2017, 04:32 AM
I have two Drobo appliances, the oldest is 9 years old and still works fine. Like anything electronic, it could last a few weeks or a few decades....it just depends.

Drobo (Gen2)
Drobo 5N
=============================
** Praise the Gods, Do Good, Act Bravely. **
03-01-2017, 03:22 PM (This post was last modified: 03-01-2017 03:23 PM by Paul.)
9 years is cool dragon
i think my oldest one is about 6-7 years Smile

(and thats true jemi, i remember when 3.5in floppy drives were phased out, in favour of internal LS120 drives, which then became iomega zip drives)

(btw i have XP home SP2, a Drobo v1 with 2x 1TB/2x 1.5TB WD greens, & a bkp Drobo v2 with the same + a DroboShare: unused)
& a DroboS v2 with 3xWD15EADS &2x1TB in DDR mode on win7, & a drobo5D (all usb)
  • btw i did a sustained (write) operation for about 6 hours, and got 13.2MB / sec ...objection? "sustained" :)
    (16.7MB/s on a v2 & 47-96MB/s drobo-s)
03-02-2017, 03:56 AM (This post was last modified: 03-02-2017 03:59 AM by jemi2.)
(03-01-2017 03:22 PM)Paul Wrote:  (and thats true jemi, i remember when 3.5in floppy drives were phased out, in favour of internal LS120 drives, which then became iomega zip drives)