Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Drobo critically low on capacity
01-11-2017, 10:14 AM
Post: #1
Drobo critically low on capacity
I am running a Drobo S on a Mac OSSierra system. I have total disk storage 9TB which reports as 6.16TB available capacity under the Dashboard. Looking at the files stored on the Drobo this amounts to less than 4.5TB. That being the case why am I getting a red light on the smallest !TB disk & Dashboard reporting I have used all but 98% (6TB) of the available storage?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-11-2017, 05:12 PM
Post: #2
RE: Drobo critically low on capacity
hi spk,
would you be able to post back with some more info about the drives and sizes you are using when you get a chance?

for example, do you have drives such as these: 3x2TB and 3x1TB (in single, SDR drive redundancy mode?)

(btw i have XP home SP2, a Drobo v1 with 2x 1TB/2x 1.5TB WD greens, & a bkp Drobo v2 with the same + a DroboShare: unused)
& a DroboS v2 with 3xWD15EADS &2x1TB in DDR mode on win7, & a drobo5D (all usb)
  • btw i did a sustained (write) operation for about 6 hours, and got 13.2MB / sec ...objection? "sustained" :)
    (16.7MB/s on a v2 & 47-96MB/s drobo-s)
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-17-2017, 10:30 AM (This post was last modified: 01-17-2017 10:32 AM by spk10128.)
Post: #3
RE: Drobo critically low on capacity
I have 4 x 2 TB & 1TB thus a total of 9TB in drive terms. Confirm the Drobo is set for SDR

Thanks for your assistance on this

(01-11-2017 05:12 PM)Paul Wrote:  hi spk,
would you be able to post back with some more info about the drives and sizes you are using when you get a chance?

for example, do you have drives such as these: 3x2TB and 3x1TB (in single, SDR drive redundancy mode?)
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-18-2017, 09:22 PM
Post: #4
RE: Drobo critically low on capacity
thanks for the info spok10128,
with this in mind, it looks like you have the following drives set-up:

2TB + 2TB + 2TB +2TB + 1TB = 9TB Raw capacity
9TB - 2TB (for sdr using an equivalent size of your largest drive) = 7TB Actual
7TB (*0.9 for filesystem overheads) = ~6.3TB available (though probably better at just over 5.9 used)


the 6TB you mention above, seems to match ok, and i think at around 5.9TB used will be the mark where it is 95% used.... it is this 95% used which is the threashold for showing a solid red light, usually on the smallest drive (which matches up with your 1TB drive being marked in this way if i understood correctly)

there is another Yellow threshold which shows a solid Yellow when you get to about 85% used, though am just wondering if you could double check how much data you actually have on your drobo, and also whether the blue lights on the bottom are almost all lit up, possibly 9 or all 10 for you currently?

for example, where did did the 4.5TB used, come from? (are there possibly any other volumes containing data, or maybe some other hidden files and folders taking up space on your drobo?

could you also check what values dashboard shows you for Used space and how many volumes it sees? (you could also try taking some screenshots and posting to imgur or similar, with links pasted to them back here if you like, though if you do that please remember to rub out any sensitive/serial numbers before uploading to play safe etc)

(btw i have XP home SP2, a Drobo v1 with 2x 1TB/2x 1.5TB WD greens, & a bkp Drobo v2 with the same + a DroboShare: unused)
& a DroboS v2 with 3xWD15EADS &2x1TB in DDR mode on win7, & a drobo5D (all usb)
  • btw i did a sustained (write) operation for about 6 hours, and got 13.2MB / sec ...objection? "sustained" :)
    (16.7MB/s on a v2 & 47-96MB/s drobo-s)
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-19-2017, 10:22 AM
Post: #5
RE: Drobo critically low on capacity
As originally advised, if I look at the Drobo via Finder the visible data stored on the drive adds ups to approx 4.5TB (Backups 3.8TB, Media 510GB, Poseidon 81mb - see screenshot ref below). I confirm all 10 blue lights are lit.

I notice that the Drobo seems to be frequently self-dismounting - possibly some self protect mechanism when critically low on space?

As suggested I have posted screenshots on imgur at this link http://imgur.com/a/svoUE.

Unless there are some mysterious hidden files which might be deleted, the only obvious solution seems to be to replace the 1TB with another 2TB - though surely I'll be in the exact same position in 3/6 months when that also fills?

(01-18-2017 09:22 PM)Paul Wrote:  thanks for the info spok10128,
with this in mind, it looks like you have the following drives set-up:

2TB + 2TB + 2TB +2TB + 1TB = 9TB Raw capacity
9TB - 2TB (for sdr using an equivalent size of your largest drive) = 7TB Actual
7TB (*0.9 for filesystem overheads) = ~6.3TB available (though probably better at just over 5.9 used)


the 6TB you mention above, seems to match ok, and i think at around 5.9TB used will be the mark where it is 95% used.... it is this 95% used which is the threashold for showing a solid red light, usually on the smallest drive (which matches up with your 1TB drive being marked in this way if i understood correctly)

there is another Yellow threshold which shows a solid Yellow when you get to about 85% used, though am just wondering if you could double check how much data you actually have on your drobo, and also whether the blue lights on the bottom are almost all lit up, possibly 9 or all 10 for you currently?

for example, where did did the 4.5TB used, come from? (are there possibly any other volumes containing data, or maybe some other hidden files and folders taking up space on your drobo?

could you also check what values dashboard shows you for Used space and how many volumes it sees? (you could also try taking some screenshots and posting to imgur or similar, with links pasted to them back here if you like, though if you do that please remember to rub out any sensitive/serial numbers before uploading to play safe etc)
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-20-2017, 09:09 PM
Post: #6
RE: Drobo critically low on capacity
thankyou for the screenshots,
sometimes the free space can update slowly in the background, (and could be that you do have less data now on the drobo though maybe something temporarily wrote to it, though if it has been the same like that all this time, im not 100% sure where the non-apparent data usage is coming from....)

what i would do if you can, would be to try copying some files onto your local drive (or somewhere else) which is about 4% of your used data. and then when you are happy that the copied files are all ok, to then try and remove those files from the drobo, to try and get the used value down to 94% before doing anything else.

then, once around that level of used space (or a bit less if easier) if you happen to have access to disk utility or diskwarrior (which is usually very good on macs) it might be worth running a check on the drobo using that. (just in case it find any lost and found files / or other errors just in case?)

once at about 94 (even if you can not run a diskwarrior check) you could then try removing that red drive (which may be the 1TB smallest drive) and then shortly after the drobo and dashboard should recogise the removal, and to put in the larger replacement like you mentioned, where it should recognise it shortly after, and assimilate it into the diskpack.

if you can then let thing settle down a bit, and to let us know how things go, we can try and see if there are any other funny things going on Smile (hopefuly things will be ok)

(btw i have XP home SP2, a Drobo v1 with 2x 1TB/2x 1.5TB WD greens, & a bkp Drobo v2 with the same + a DroboShare: unused)
& a DroboS v2 with 3xWD15EADS &2x1TB in DDR mode on win7, & a drobo5D (all usb)
  • btw i did a sustained (write) operation for about 6 hours, and got 13.2MB / sec ...objection? "sustained" :)
    (16.7MB/s on a v2 & 47-96MB/s drobo-s)
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
02-08-2017, 02:00 PM
Post: #7
RE: Drobo critically low on capacity
I have since managed to reduce the used space to 90%. I am running the Mac Disk Utility on Drobo though this has been running for approx 12 hours & not sure what progress is being made. I note your recommendation about Disk Warrior though at $150 I could buy a replacement 5TB drive. Are there any other tools you can recommend?


(01-20-2017 09:09 PM)Paul Wrote:  thankyou for the screenshots,
sometimes the free space can update slowly in the background, (and could be that you do have less data now on the drobo though maybe something temporarily wrote to it, though if it has been the same like that all this time, im not 100% sure where the non-apparent data usage is coming from....)

what i would do if you can, would be to try copying some files onto your local drive (or somewhere else) which is about 4% of your used data. and then when you are happy that the copied files are all ok, to then try and remove those files from the drobo, to try and get the used value down to 94% before doing anything else.

then, once around that level of used space (or a bit less if easier) if you happen to have access to disk utility or diskwarrior (which is usually very good on macs) it might be worth running a check on the drobo using that. (just in case it find any lost and found files / or other errors just in case?)

once at about 94 (even if you can not run a diskwarrior check) you could then try removing that red drive (which may be the 1TB smallest drive) and then shortly after the drobo and dashboard should recogise the removal, and to put in the larger replacement like you mentioned, where it should recognise it shortly after, and assimilate it into the diskpack.

if you can then let thing settle down a bit, and to let us know how things go, we can try and see if there are any other funny things going on Smile (hopefuly things will be ok)
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
02-08-2017, 04:22 PM (This post was last modified: 02-08-2017 04:24 PM by Paul.)
Post: #8
RE: Drobo critically low on capacity
ah well done for getting it to 90, for the mac though i do not actually have a mac and am not sure which other tools could help you, other than the fact that diskwarrior is known to fix a lot of mac related problems even on internal mac drives...

but, just looking back at your original post... maybe another possible way forward could be this....?

- what if you bought a new drive instead of diskwarrior, and tested the blank drive in a stand-alone non-drobo way to make sure it is ok,
- and then if you copied all your data from your drobo onto it as a backup, which may just about fit all of your data. (and to verify etc)
- and then to reset the drobo and format it from scratch
- and then to copy your data from the new backup onto your fresh drobo (and verify etc)
- and if all is well, you now have a drobo all working properly again, and you could either keep the 5TB new drive (for your own backups, or to wipe it and resell or to use in future as an upgrade or something...

just a thought but what do you think about this? Smile

(btw i have XP home SP2, a Drobo v1 with 2x 1TB/2x 1.5TB WD greens, & a bkp Drobo v2 with the same + a DroboShare: unused)
& a DroboS v2 with 3xWD15EADS &2x1TB in DDR mode on win7, & a drobo5D (all usb)
  • btw i did a sustained (write) operation for about 6 hours, and got 13.2MB / sec ...objection? "sustained" :)
    (16.7MB/s on a v2 & 47-96MB/s drobo-s)
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
02-09-2017, 12:45 PM (This post was last modified: 02-09-2017 12:51 PM by spk10128.)
Post: #9
RE: Drobo critically low on capacity
(02-08-2017 04:22 PM)Paul Wrote:  ah well done for getting it to 90, for the mac though i do not actually have a mac and am not sure which other tools could help you, other than the fact that diskwarrior is known to fix a lot of mac related problems even on internal mac drives...

but, just looking back at your original post... maybe another possible way forward could be this....?

- what if you bought a new drive instead of diskwarrior, and tested the blank drive in a stand-alone non-drobo way to make sure it is ok,
- and then if you copied all your data from your drobo onto it as a backup, which may just about fit all of your data. (and to verify etc)
- and then to reset the drobo and format it from scratch
- and then to copy your data from the new backup onto your fresh drobo (and verify etc)
- and if all is well, you now have a drobo all working properly again, and you could either keep the 5TB new drive (for your own backups, or to wipe it and resell or to use in future as an upgrade or something...

just a thought but what do you think about this? Smile

Still chewing on this, however, one question. I have other external drives which when used as Time Machine storage just overwrite older files when the disk runs out of space leaving me in an endless loop with the say 100 most recent backups. The Drobo does seem to be designed not to do this since when it runs critically low on space, to appears to prevent the Time Machine from performing any further backups. Do you have any knowledge of this?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
02-10-2017, 05:01 PM
Post: #10
RE: Drobo critically low on capacity
ah there might be some settings that could help within time machine itself too... there was a very good site mentioned i think by johnm called pondini , for example here that might have useful info in general too:
http://www.drobospace.com/forums/showthr...http://www.drobospace.com/forums/showthread.php?

is your time machine using a specially-created (limited) time machine volume that dashboard made, or is it just set to use a particular volume on your drobo (but that does not have any actual "limits" as to how much space time machine can use)?

(btw i have XP home SP2, a Drobo v1 with 2x 1TB/2x 1.5TB WD greens, & a bkp Drobo v2 with the same + a DroboShare: unused)
& a DroboS v2 with 3xWD15EADS &2x1TB in DDR mode on win7, & a drobo5D (all usb)
  • btw i did a sustained (write) operation for about 6 hours, and got 13.2MB / sec ...objection? "sustained" :)
    (16.7MB/s on a v2 & 47-96MB/s drobo-s)
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Forum Jump: