Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Drobo Official Stance on 5D Support and Sierra
10-11-2016, 08:10 PM
Post: #1
Drobo Official Stance on 5D Support and Sierra
It appears Sierra does not support the 5D on Thunderbolt. I just connected it via USB3 and all appears well that way. Is this a known problem and does anyone have a link to any public statements I missed?

I don't have support anymore so I can directly submit logs, but if someone from drobo would like to take a look let me know.

Matt
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-12-2016, 09:09 AM
Post: #2
RE: Drobo Official Stance on 5D Support and Sierra
Exact same issue here, after updating to Sierra on my Mac, Drobo 5D failed to mount with Thunderbolt but did mount with USB3
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-12-2016, 01:14 PM (This post was last modified: 10-12-2016 01:22 PM by Paul.)
Post: #3
RE: Drobo Official Stance on 5D Support and Sierra
btw another user recently had an issue with usb. (it might be a different issue, though i just asked them to try thundnerbolt to see if that makes a difference plus some other checks)
http://www.drobospace.com/forums/showthr...http://www.drobospace.com/forums/showthread.php?

for the upgrading aspect, can i check if you both happened to upgrade to sierra (while the drobo was in use?) - that seemed to cause problems with regards to el capitan upgrade processes.
(just linking related posts)
http://www.drobospace.com/forums/showthr...http://www.drobospace.com/forums/showthread.php?
&
http://www.drobospace.com/forums/showthr...http://www.drobospace.com/forums/showthread.php?
(where another user also managed to get things working via usb instead of thunderbolt)

(btw i have XP home SP2, a Drobo v1 with 2x 1TB/2x 1.5TB WD greens, & a bkp Drobo v2 with the same + a DroboShare: unused)
& a DroboS v2 with 3xWD15EADS &2x1TB in DDR mode on win7, & a drobo5D (all usb)
  • btw i did a sustained (write) operation for about 6 hours, and got 13.2MB / sec ...objection? "sustained" :)
    (16.7MB/s on a v2 & 47-96MB/s drobo-s)
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-12-2016, 01:22 PM
Post: #4
RE: Drobo Official Stance on 5D Support and Sierra
(10-12-2016 01:14 PM)Paul Wrote:  btw another user recently had an issue with usb. (it might be a different issue, though i just asked them to try thundnerbolt to see if that makes a difference plus some other checks)
http://www.drobospace.com/forums/showthr...http://www.drobospace.com/forums/showthread.php?

for the upgrading aspect, can i check if you both happened to upgrade to sierra (while the drobo was in use?) - that seemed to cause problems with regards to el capitan upgrade processes.
(just linking related posts)
http://www.drobospace.com/forums/showthr...http://www.drobospace.com/forums/showthread.php?
&
http://www.drobospace.com/forums/showthr...http://www.drobospace.com/forums/showthread.php?
(where another user also managed to get things working via usb instead of thunderbolt)


I did yes.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-12-2016, 02:12 PM (This post was last modified: 10-12-2016 02:29 PM by akrologos.)
Post: #5
RE: Drobo Official Stance on 5D Support and Sierra
I've the same problem. I had no problem with El Capitan, but that was a new machine, not an upgrade. However, when I upgraded to Sierra, I did have the Drobo D Running, it was fine and then it just became unmounted. It still shows up in both Drobo Dashboard and Disk Utilities, but will not mount. Disk Utilities also will not mount it. Whether connected with USB 3 or Lightening makes no difference
(10-12-2016 02:12 PM)akrologos Wrote:  I've the same problem. I had no problem with El Capitan, but that was a new machine, not an upgrade. However, when I upgraded to Sierra, I did have the Drobo D Running, it was fine and then it just became unmounted. It still shows up in both Drobo Dashboard and Disk Utilities, but will not mount. Disk Utilities also will not mount it. Whether connected with USB 3 or Thunderbolt makes no difference

Fwiw, both my Drobo S and Drobo mini seem to have no problem mounting on Sierra, only the Drobo D

I can also provide diagnostic log if Drobo would find it useful. I assume that there are folks still on support for whom Drobo might have an interest in helping figure out this problem...
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-14-2016, 01:28 PM
Post: #6
RE: Drobo Official Stance on 5D Support and Sierra
thanks for more info guys,

(aside from the andy garcia joke), agarcia had some success using a method mentioned here, which might help you too? http://www.drobospace.com/forums/showthr...http://www.drobospace.com/forums/showthread.php?

(btw i have XP home SP2, a Drobo v1 with 2x 1TB/2x 1.5TB WD greens, & a bkp Drobo v2 with the same + a DroboShare: unused)
& a DroboS v2 with 3xWD15EADS &2x1TB in DDR mode on win7, & a drobo5D (all usb)
  • btw i did a sustained (write) operation for about 6 hours, and got 13.2MB / sec ...objection? "sustained" :)
    (16.7MB/s on a v2 & 47-96MB/s drobo-s)
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Forum Jump: