Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
DroboFS - Out of space replacement drive not working
09-21-2016, 05:57 PM (This post was last modified: 09-21-2016 05:58 PM by comicsans.)
DroboFS - Out of space replacement drive not working
Hello,

I'm a Drobo newbie and would appreciate any help I can get. I've tried searching the forums and can't find anything that quite fits my situation. The person who set this up and would have details of its original configuration is unfortunately gone. We also have no backup whatsoever. I'll try to be as succinct as possible.

-User cannot mount share, dashboard cannot connect to it, and device wont respond to pings, LED for Drive 1 is solid red.
-Hard boot the device and the dashboard can now see it. Alert says drobo is out of space please add or replace indicated disk (Drive 1) to increase capacity. Status shows: 5 x 1TB drives in the unit, Used space 3.58TB, Free space 258MB, Total 3.58Tb
-Cold swap Drive 1 for a 4TB drive. When it boots Drive 1 shows 4TB drive and it is solid red, alert says replace Drive 1 to increase capacity, status shows: 1 x 4TB drive + 4 x 1TB drives, Used Space 19.5MB, Free Space 3.58TB, Total 3.6TB
-After 30 min Used Space does not change, unit LEDs and dashboard do not indicate any type of drive writing activity nor any messages about protection mode so I hotwap original drive and reboot.
-Dashboard shows 5x 1TB drives, Drive 1 solid red, Used Space 3.58TB, Free Space 258MB, Total Space 3.58TB, Drobo critically low on space, replace disk 1 to increase capacity, and red LED on Drive 1.
-Pull Drive 1 while the unit is on, wait until the dashboard reflects bay 1 is empty, used space still at 3.58TB, then add the 4Tb drive (unit still on). Dashboard sees the 4TB drive, it is solid red in dashboard and on LED. Alert says Drobo is low on capacity add or replace Drive 1 to increase capacity.