Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
moving disk pack from old 5N to new 5N
09-21-2016, 03:20 PM
moving disk pack from old 5N to new 5N
Hi - I've got a 2-3yr old 5N running 3.5.11 with 128G mSATA that was full of 3T WD reds that I've been adding 5T WD reds to for about 6 months. Currently has ~11.5T of music and pictures on it, .flac and raw files mostly, there's no way to back it up - it is the backup. When I added the 3rd one last week, started at the top now at the middle bay. 5N didn't detect the drive, had 2 5Ts and same thing with #2 and when I put the original 3T back in still RED LED. So I disassembled the unit and managed to get a good connection in bay #2 (0-4 right?) and ~15hrs later added a 5T to bay 3, same RED LED, still open so I got it working too.
Now I'm getting paranoid about reliability and my [2-3yrs older] FS is so slow it's pretty much useless, even as archive only it's painful to get data on and off, always was though, my wife can probably type faster than it can read/write - she's a very fast typist, besides it's doesn't have enough free space to enter in to the equation, anyways back to topic...
So I bought a new 5N with 256G mSATA, I stuck a few old drives in it, set the password, static IP, shared it on my Windoze network, all seems to be working pretty groovy. Now I'd like to move the old 5N disk pack to to it. Piece of cake right? update all firmware and dashboard, power down, move drives - maintaining the order, power up, go read a comic book and it's done - wallah - no data loss, remember, it is the backup, most of the original files are unavailable.

Please if anyone has any details I should follow to prevent data loss PLEASE speak up. For instance should I reset the new 5N before I put the old pack in? or remove the share and IP address? Or...make an offering somewhere? Anything? Thanks for all constructive comments.