Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
HELP on slow and readonly drobo
08-30-2016, 03:13 AM (This post was last modified: 08-30-2016 03:14 AM by mj@martinjan.com.)
Post: #1
Bug HELP on slow and readonly drobo
hi all,

My drobo is suddenly a read only disc. I tried the solutions in this link but no luck.
El capitain disc utility gives errors on it but cant fix it..

Drobo dashboard gives no errors..

Then to be safe i started a backup to an other disk . But the drobo is very slow . like 1GB per hour . there is 4.5 TB to backup...

what to do ?


-mj
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
08-31-2016, 03:46 AM
Post: #2
RE: HELP on slow and readonly drobo
connected it to an other laptop . the copy speeds are much faster now . but still slow.

now busy copy-ing my data to a hdd of an other brand than drobo...
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
08-31-2016, 03:01 PM
Post: #3
RE: HELP on slow and readonly drobo
hi mj, is is possible that something on your main computer was somehow trying to use the drobo (such as trying to access the data for spotlight search indexing and catalogue?)

(btw i have XP home SP2, a Drobo v1 with 2x 1TB/2x 1.5TB WD greens, & a bkp Drobo v2 with the same + a DroboShare: unused)
& a DroboS v2 with 3xWD15EADS &2x1TB in DDR mode on win7, & a drobo5D (all usb)
  • btw i did a sustained (write) operation for about 6 hours, and got 13.2MB / sec ...objection? "sustained" :)
    (16.7MB/s on a v2 & 47-96MB/s drobo-s)
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
08-31-2016, 04:53 PM
Post: #4
RE: HELP on slow and readonly drobo
hi

the main computer (macpro) said something like this http://cdn.osxdaily.com/wp-content/uploa...http://cdn.osxdaily.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/09/cant-repair-disk-drive-f

and the second one( a macbookpro) also complained about it .

tried discutility or the cocktail app but no succes .

on the macpro data transfer was like 1gb per hour but that was because it has usb-1 conections and on the laptop it are usb2.
it it still going very slow like 1gb per 2 minutes .the new hdd is usb3...
-mj
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-02-2016, 06:59 AM (This post was last modified: 09-02-2016 07:00 AM by Paul.)
Post: #5
RE: HELP on slow and readonly drobo
thanks mj for the info,
i am not sure if you have Disk Warrior, thought that has been able to fix a lot of issues for people, (incuding some drobos that were not mounting), and might be worth trying, after you have finished with your backups.

if you can also have a look in dashboard when you get a moment, can you see any RO next to your drobo unit name?
(just in case your drobo was manually put into ReadOnly mode by mistake somehow?)

(btw i have XP home SP2, a Drobo v1 with 2x 1TB/2x 1.5TB WD greens, & a bkp Drobo v2 with the same + a DroboShare: unused)
& a DroboS v2 with 3xWD15EADS &2x1TB in DDR mode on win7, & a drobo5D (all usb)
  • btw i did a sustained (write) operation for about 6 hours, and got 13.2MB / sec ...objection? "sustained" :)
    (16.7MB/s on a v2 & 47-96MB/s drobo-s)
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-03-2016, 12:26 PM
Post: #6
RE: HELP on slow and readonly drobo
hi
i dont see any RO at my dashboard . How do you put the drive manualty in RO?

backupd are almost only done need to find some palce to put a 740Gb finalcut pro file ...


-mj
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-05-2016, 02:58 PM
Post: #7
RE: HELP on slow and readonly drobo
ah ok,
you probably do not have it read only mode then, though just for your info, here is a link about it:
http://www.drobospace.com/forums/showthr...http://www.drobospace.com/forums/showthread.php?

(btw i have XP home SP2, a Drobo v1 with 2x 1TB/2x 1.5TB WD greens, & a bkp Drobo v2 with the same + a DroboShare: unused)
& a DroboS v2 with 3xWD15EADS &2x1TB in DDR mode on win7, & a drobo5D (all usb)
  • btw i did a sustained (write) operation for about 6 hours, and got 13.2MB / sec ...objection? "sustained" :)
    (16.7MB/s on a v2 & 47-96MB/s drobo-s)
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Forum Jump: