Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
Drobo not rebuilding after removing a single drive
08-23-2016, 06:48 AM
Drobo not rebuilding after removing a single drive
Hey everyone,

I've read loads posts about people having similar problems - i.e. downsizing their drobo, migrating to another NAS etc - but does anyone have anything useful regarding my problem.

I removed a single hard drive from my Drobo B800FS (I'm migrating), and the drive has just gone red and warn me that I'm no longer protected instead of rebuilding. I have about 7.5Tb spare on the device without the removed HDD, based on the current protection level (using 5.3Tb), I would have thought it had plenty of space to rebuild with.

Anyone have any idea how I might kick-start the rebuild? I searched to see if I could "force" a rebuild but without much luck. I've not tried shutting it down, removing all the drives, powering it up, powering it down, returning drives and powering it up yet... but usually that's if you want to remove more than 1 hard drive... at least that's what I read.

Thanks
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
08-24-2016, 07:22 PM
RE: Drobo not rebuilding after removing a single drive
hi elre,
another user recently had something similar, but after a fair few days it started rebuilding. (in their case though, they had recently been modifying or deleting several files, so another background process might have been in operation, such as file optimisation or a space-reclamation process, before the actual rebuild)
http://www.drobospace.com/forums/showthr...http://www.drobospace.com/forums/showthread.php?

i think if you can try to wait some more time it may be good, rather than trying to remove all drives and forcing it to do that?

(btw i have XP home SP2, a Drobo v1 with 2x 1TB/2x 1.5TB WD greens, & a bkp Drobo v2 with the same + a DroboShare: unused)
& a DroboS v2 with 3xWD15EADS &2x1TB in DDR mode on win7, & a drobo5D (all usb)