Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
Drobo Gen 2, Raspberry Pi 3 - Cannot Mount
06-30-2016, 03:54 PM
Drobo Gen 2, Raspberry Pi 3 - Cannot Mount
Hi all - first of all I'd like to say that these forums are fantastic and I have really appreciated them over the years. I've never needed to even post a question before because nearly everything I have ever needed to know was already answered comprehensively here.

I've been using Drobo products for at least 4 years now, with both a Gen 2 4-bay (USB) and a B800i (Gigabit ethernet). I use them with Windows 7 / 10 netbooks, Linux and Windows 7 / 10 laptops and desktops, and now (attempting) a Raspberry Pi 3.

Issue Summary

My question concerns the 4-bay Gen 2 Drobo, connected via USB with a Raspberry Pi 3 running Raspbian "Jessie" Linux (4.4.13-v7+). The Drobo is working fine on another Linux system or on a Windows system, so this is not a question of the Drobo malfunctioning - it is purely one of use / compatibility with the Pi. I realise that Drobo does not provide support for Linux, and I can confirm that on Ubuntu Linux (on a desktop PC) the Drobo nonetheless functions flawlessly. However I cannot get it to mount on the Raspberry Pi, even though the Pi is clearly able to communicate with the Drobo - waking the device up and grabbing status data through 3rd party tools. I am sincerely hopeful that there is an advanced Linux user on here who can see where my problem lies, or someone has already dealt with this exact situation and can give me some insight.

Specifics

When I connect the Drobo to the Raspberry Pi, the Pi can see the Drobo - however it is only recognised as an "18TB Block Device". It shows with 2 partitions, respectively 134MB and 18TB in size, both are of an "Unknown" filesystem (To confirm, the device is in fact formatted as NTFS and functioning properly with other systems).

This Raspberry Pi is fully updated, with current versions of ntfs-3g for NTFS support. other NTFS devices work without a hitch.