Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
dead drobo to new drobo
05-24-2016, 03:49 PM
Post: #1
dead drobo to new drobo
Hi all
If I take my old drives out of my old drobo (dead) and put them in order into a new drobo (same model) can I expect to get my data back, I can't be sure of the firmware on the dead one because is dead, what would you guys recommend I do, I need my data its streesing me out.

Dave
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-25-2016, 12:22 PM
Post: #2
RE: dead drobo to new drobo
Yes. As long as the failure was the old Drobo chassis/power supply, etc, your diskpack should move from one unit to another.

The only thing I would do before inserting the drives is make sure the new unit is running the most current firmware.

Then shut it down, insert the diskpack (in the correct order) and power it up.

http://www.drobo.com/resource-center/migration/

i7 Mac Mini Server, 10.10
Drobo (Gen2), USB, 4x WD 4TB RED

Drobo (Gen3), USB3, 4X WD 4TB RED

Drobo 5D, TB, 5x WD 4TB RED, 120GB Intel 525 mSATA SSD
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-26-2016, 01:03 PM
Post: #3
RE: dead drobo to new drobo
thanks so much it worked!!!

take a bow.

Dave
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-26-2016, 03:55 PM
Post: #4
RE: dead drobo to new drobo
(just linking to related post)
http://www.drobospace.com/forums/showthr...http://www.drobospace.com/forums/showthread.php?

nice one mgriffin Smile

(btw i have XP home SP2, a Drobo v1 with 2x 1TB/2x 1.5TB WD greens, & a bkp Drobo v2 with the same + a DroboShare: unused)
& a DroboS v2 with 3xWD15EADS &2x1TB in DDR mode on win7, & a drobo5D (all usb)
  • btw i did a sustained (write) operation for about 6 hours, and got 13.2MB / sec ...objection? "sustained" :)
    (16.7MB/s on a v2 & 47-96MB/s drobo-s)
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-14-2017, 09:50 AM
Post: #5
RE: dead drobo to new drobo
if i move HDDs to the new drobo is not the same as old one (4 bay-->5bay), is that possible to keep the date in HDDs also?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-16-2017, 09:33 PM (This post was last modified: 01-16-2017 09:35 PM by Paul.)
Post: #6
RE: dead drobo to new drobo
hi andreaus,
this should also be possible for example if your drobo was a gen2 (4 bay) you could go to a 5d (5 bay), for example as mentioned in the procedures in the migration page which can be found here:
http://www.drobo.com/resource-center/migration/

the main thing is that there are essentially 2 main lines of drobo, which are essentially directly-attached DAS models and network NAS models (and those diskpacks are not directly interchangeable) though if you have a look at the migration page it has some tables with models and more information for you too.

(there are also 1 or 2 of each type that seem to only be able to have their diskpacks migrated between the same model but all the info should be there on the migration page.)

(btw i have XP home SP2, a Drobo v1 with 2x 1TB/2x 1.5TB WD greens, & a bkp Drobo v2 with the same + a DroboShare: unused)
& a DroboS v2 with 3xWD15EADS &2x1TB in DDR mode on win7, & a drobo5D (all usb)
  • btw i did a sustained (write) operation for about 6 hours, and got 13.2MB / sec ...objection? "sustained" :)
    (16.7MB/s on a v2 & 47-96MB/s drobo-s)
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Forum Jump: