Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
2 gen Drobo drive not mounting. Out of the blue...
04-06-2016, 01:55 AM
Post: #1
2 gen Drobo drive not mounting. Out of the blue...
C:\Windows\system32>chkdsk f: /x The type of the file system is NTFS. Volume label is Drobo. Corrupt master file table. Windows will attempt to recover master file table from disk. Windows cannot recover master file table. CHKDSK aborted. I'm using the firewire 800 cable. It also has a usb 2 as alternate. Dashboard sees the unit and reports all is well...NO says windows

All my family pics are on that thing! that sucks. Can anybody help?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-07-2016, 03:21 PM
Post: #2
RE: 2 gen Drobo drive not mounting. Out of the blue...
(hi am just linking to your other post with reply)
http://www.drobospace.com/forums/showthr...http://www.drobospace.com/forums/showthread.php?

(btw i have XP home SP2, a Drobo v1 with 2x 1TB/2x 1.5TB WD greens, & a bkp Drobo v2 with the same + a DroboShare: unused)
& a DroboS v2 with 3xWD15EADS &2x1TB in DDR mode on win7, & a drobo5D (all usb)
  • btw i did a sustained (write) operation for about 6 hours, and got 13.2MB / sec ...objection? "sustained" :)
    (16.7MB/s on a v2 & 47-96MB/s drobo-s)
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-29-2016, 02:18 PM
Post: #3
RE: 2 gen Drobo drive not mounting. Out of the blue...
(04-06-2016 01:55 AM)HERMEEZ Wrote:  C:\Windows\system32>chkdsk f: /x The type of the file system is NTFS. Volume label is Drobo. Corrupt master file table. Windows will attempt to recover master file table from disk. Windows cannot recover master file table. CHKDSK aborted. I'm using the firewire 800 cable. It also has a usb 2 as alternate. Dashboard sees the unit and reports all is well...NO says windows

All my family pics are on that thing! that sucks. Can anybody help?
i'm not an expert, so maybe some drobo person or an expert can chime in. but it sounds to me like your drive got corrupted, and fyi raid doesn't protect against that. drobo or not, the file allocation table can get corrupted. that's why you need backups, even having a raid.

i've had many harddrives over my life get corrupted. and my drobo 5d also got corrupted last year. gotta make backups.

fyi, i use Crashplan for cloud backup. it's super cheap--like $60ish / year, and for unlimited data too! (with some caveats). i also have offsite backups where i manually backup my drobos to external harddrives and store them at work. so basically 3 copies of every file i have.

sorry man.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-31-2016, 12:22 PM
Post: #4
RE: 2 gen Drobo drive not mounting. Out of the blue...
hi xyclopx, that makes me wonder..... maybe hard drives (or even devices that use hard drives) could start using multiple copies of the file allocation tables.... even if it takes up more space, it would proably make sense to back it up several times.

i remember a drive utility from norton, which allowed you to create a local backup of what i believe was crucial fat info, (which didnt really take up that much space), so that in the case of a hard drive problem, it could be used again to reconstruct things.... maybe something similar is a good idea going forward for all products..

(btw i have XP home SP2, a Drobo v1 with 2x 1TB/2x 1.5TB WD greens, & a bkp Drobo v2 with the same + a DroboShare: unused)
& a DroboS v2 with 3xWD15EADS &2x1TB in DDR mode on win7, & a drobo5D (all usb)
  • btw i did a sustained (write) operation for about 6 hours, and got 13.2MB / sec ...objection? "sustained" :)
    (16.7MB/s on a v2 & 47-96MB/s drobo-s)
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
08-01-2016, 05:52 PM
Post: #5
RE: 2 gen Drobo drive not mounting. Out of the blue...
(07-31-2016 12:22 PM)Paul Wrote:  hi xyclopx, that makes me wonder..... maybe hard drives (or even devices that use hard drives) could start using multiple copies of the file allocation tables.... even if it takes up more space, it would proably make sense to back it up several times.

i remember a drive utility from norton, which allowed you to create a local backup of what i believe was crucial fat info, (which didnt really take up that much space), so that in the case of a hard drive problem, it could be used again to reconstruct things.... maybe something similar is a good idea going forward for all products..
hi paul,

i think you have good ideas. this subject is kinda beyond me, but you might want to read this for further details:

http://askubuntu.com/questions/442195/wh...http://askubuntu.com/questions/442195/which-of-the-filesystems-supported-by-ubuntu-is-the-most-resistant-to-

there's also this:

https://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/libr...https://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/hh831724%28v=ws.11%29.aspx?f=255&MSPPError=-
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
08-05-2016, 03:33 PM
Post: #6
RE: 2 gen Drobo drive not mounting. Out of the blue...
thanks xcyclopx, i added those to my reading list
(which also still includes the hobbit) Smile

(btw i have XP home SP2, a Drobo v1 with 2x 1TB/2x 1.5TB WD greens, & a bkp Drobo v2 with the same + a DroboShare: unused)
& a DroboS v2 with 3xWD15EADS &2x1TB in DDR mode on win7, & a drobo5D (all usb)
  • btw i did a sustained (write) operation for about 6 hours, and got 13.2MB / sec ...objection? "sustained" :)
    (16.7MB/s on a v2 & 47-96MB/s drobo-s)
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Forum Jump: