Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
One large, fast volume?
01-13-2016, 02:19 PM
One large, fast volume?
Hi folks, I'm a bit new to the world of Drobo. I just snagged a pair of Drobo 5D devices and five 6TB WD Red hard disks. Put all 5 disks into one device, threw a 240GB mSATA in the bottom of it, plugged it in, and ... created two 16TB volumes. The device is connected to a USB 3.0 card in a Dell PowerEdge R710 II running Windows Server 2012 R2 Standard.

I understand that this is the only configuration supported in the current firmware revision, and 16TB is enough capacity for the next month or two, but are there any plans to increase maximum volume size in the near future? I plan on feeding five 6TB WD Reds and a 240GB mSATA to the other Drobo in the coming weeks, and it would be nice to know how long I'll have to deal with two volumes on an external device instead of one.

Failing that, is there a way to run the unit as a JBOD and create a Storage Space spanning the disks?

Additionally, the write performance of the 5D doesn't seem to be all that great. As I type this I'm pushing a 29.7GB file to it over a 10Gb network at about 85MB/s. I can copy that same file to a Buffalo DriveStation Quad (four 6TB WD Reds in RAID 0) at 130MB/s. The server's direct-attached 6Gbps SAS RAID (36x 4TB NLSAS drives from various manufacturers in RAID 50) can write it at 1.0GB/s; I don't expect the Drobo to reach anywhere near that speed over USB 3.0, but shouldn't it at least match the Buffalo's performance, especially with a 240GB SSD involved? Is there some sort of background initialization process that's hobbling performance?

Sorry if these are very Drobo n00b-ish questions, but I am, after all, a Drobo n00b Smile
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-13-2016, 02:32 PM (This post was last modified: 01-13-2016 02:33 PM by Docchris.)
RE: One large, fast volume?
The ssd helps reads only

It can't cache writes because it isn't redundant