Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
SEAGATE 8TB ARCHIVE DRIVE
05-09-2016, 02:51 PM
Post: #11
RE: SEAGATE 8TB ARCHIVE DRIVE
What's the largest Capacity Seagate Drive that I could buy as a replacement?
I'd rather get the right product this time.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-09-2016, 02:54 PM
Post: #12
RE: SEAGATE 8TB ARCHIVE DRIVE
8tb - you just need to get the NAS drive instead of the archive drive

personally i hate seagate and ive got the 8TB Wd's instead

http://www.seagate.com/gb/en/internal-ha...http://www.seagate.com/gb/en/internal-hard-drives/nas-drives/nas-hdd/?sku=ST

http://www.wdc.com/en/products/products.aspx?id=810

My Avatar is my Panther Chameleon named 'Leon.

I have a owned a Drobo v1, v2, DroboPro, Drobo 5D, DroboFS, Drobo 5N and DroboPro FS

I currently have a Windows 2016 Server with 8 x 8TB Seagate Archive Drives, 14 x 8TB WD Red and 3 x 8TB WD Gold
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-09-2016, 08:57 PM (This post was last modified: 05-10-2016 12:19 AM by DSLAM.)
Post: #13
RE: SEAGATE 8TB ARCHIVE DRIVE
This guy had an experience with this issue and made an interesting video explaining it. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5ofDuKF4...https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5ofDuKF4Xy0&ab_channe

And here is his update video explaining why: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CR_bfbOT...https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CR_bfbOTY1o&ab_channe
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-09-2016, 10:40 PM
Post: #14
RE: SEAGATE 8TB ARCHIVE DRIVE
Guys, read this:

"ยท Seagate
- Seagate Archive drives are currently not supported.
- The Seagate ST32000645NS constellation drive will require a firmware upgrade to work in the following products: Drobo Gen 1 & 2, Drobo FS and Drobo S. This firmware update is not yet available."

http://myproducts.drobo.com/article/AA-01766
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-14-2016, 07:03 AM
Post: #15
RE: SEAGATE 8TB ARCHIVE DRIVE
I have WD Red 8TB that isn't showing up. The 5D just reads it as an empty bay. Left it in for days now. Anyone else have that?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-15-2016, 12:03 PM
Post: #16
RE: SEAGATE 8TB ARCHIVE DRIVE
hi, it might be worth trying to reseat it again, just in case it was not making a good connection?
(also, can i check what firmware you are using?)

(btw i have XP home SP2, a Drobo v1 with 2x 1TB/2x 1.5TB WD greens, & a bkp Drobo v2 with the same + a DroboShare: unused)
& a DroboS v2 with 3xWD15EADS &2x1TB in DDR mode on win7, & a drobo5D (all usb)
  • btw i did a sustained (write) operation for about 6 hours, and got 13.2MB / sec ...objection? "sustained" :)
    (16.7MB/s on a v2 & 47-96MB/s drobo-s)
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-07-2016, 03:24 PM (This post was last modified: 09-07-2016 03:25 PM by sebastianshin.)
Post: #17
RE: SEAGATE 8TB ARCHIVE DRIVE
I just reset my Drobo 5D with newly purchased 5 of this Seagate Archive Drives and some weird thing happened!
Drobo dashboard tells me that the actual capacity is 21.61TB out of 36.38TB with Dual Disk Redundancy.
However, when I checked the volume size in windows 7, it said 63.9TB.
I tried both single and dual disk redundancy, but the results were same.

Regardless the poor drive performance of this Seagate HDDs, do you think I can use it under this weird situation?
I am wondering what if my data is over 21.61TB which is actual capacity.

What do you say?

I currently have Drobo FS, DroboPro FS, and Drobo 5D.
I currently have Synology DS1813+, DS2413+ with DX1211, and RS3614xs with two RX1214.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-08-2016, 12:33 AM (This post was last modified: 09-08-2016 12:35 AM by Docchris.)
Post: #18
RE: SEAGATE 8TB ARCHIVE DRIVE
there is nothing weird? everything is working perfectly.

drives sold as 8TB drives appear to be 7.2TB when measured by windows.

You have five of these (the 36Tb total reported) , so with dual disk redundancy that leaves the capacity of three of them for data - which is your 21.6TB .

all drobos have ALWAYS used "thin-provisioning" which is where the volume is formatted to a larger size than the underlying storage, this allows for easy expansion in future (you can add more disks without having to re-format because the formatted size is already large enough), so the size presented to windows by Drobo is 64TB.
and its not just "poor performance" there is a very real risk that the seagate drives will be flagged as failed by Drobo, which may lead to a situation where your whole disk pack fails. i would very strongly advise not to use these disks in a Drobo until it is updated to be compatible with them

My Avatar is my Panther Chameleon named 'Leon.

I have a owned a Drobo v1, v2, DroboPro, Drobo 5D, DroboFS, Drobo 5N and DroboPro FS

I currently have a Windows 2016 Server with 8 x 8TB Seagate Archive Drives, 14 x 8TB WD Red and 3 x 8TB WD Gold
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-08-2016, 12:43 PM (This post was last modified: 09-08-2016 12:45 PM by sebastianshin.)
Post: #19
RE: SEAGATE 8TB ARCHIVE DRIVE
Thanks for the answer.
I also have Drobo FS which has 5 of WD 3TB Red, and recently, I upgraded 2 HDDs to 2 of 8TB Seagate Archive HDDs, too.-Drobo website says, this 8TB is not supported in Drobo FS, but it actually worked!
Before replacing HDDs, the actual capacity was 12TB, but now it was increased on both Drobo Dashboard and Windows Explorer because the HDDs are replaced.
Based on this information, I still didn't understand 64TB in Windows Explorer.

What do you say?

(09-08-2016 12:33 AM)Docchris Wrote:  there is nothing weird? everything is working perfectly.

drives sold as 8TB drives appear to be 7.2TB when measured by windows.

You have five of these (the 36Tb total reported) , so with dual disk redundancy that leaves the capacity of three of them for data - which is your 21.6TB .

all drobos have ALWAYS used "thin-provisioning" which is where the volume is formatted to a larger size than the underlying storage, this allows for easy expansion in future (you can add more disks without having to re-format because the formatted size is already large enough), so the size presented to windows by Drobo is 64TB.
and its not just "poor performance" there is a very real risk that the seagate drives will be flagged as failed by Drobo, which may lead to a situation where your whole disk pack fails. i would very strongly advise not to use these disks in a Drobo until it is updated to be compatible with them

I currently have Drobo FS, DroboPro FS, and Drobo 5D.
I currently have Synology DS1813+, DS2413+ with DX1211, and RS3614xs with two RX1214.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-08-2016, 02:20 PM
Post: #20
RE: SEAGATE 8TB ARCHIVE DRIVE
Archive drives should not be used in Drobos. They are not designed for high levels of re-writes

They basically have very large internal sector sizes, so that re-write operations require a large amount of data to be read from the disk, modified with the change, and then re-written back. Its more complicated than that.

This means these operations will have poor performance, and its not at all clear to me what their data integrity behaviors are.

This article discusses the SMR technology used by Archive drives

http://www.storagereview.com/what_is_shi...http://www.storagereview.com/what_is_shingled_magnetic_rec

and a review of the Seagate drive in question

http://www.storagereview.com/seagate_arc...http://www.storagereview.com/seagate_archive_hdd_

Cheers!

Jason
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Forum Jump: