Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
DroboPro & El Capitan 10.11
08-31-2015, 11:12 PM
Post: #1
DroboPro & El Capitan 10.11
Curious if anyone has any experience to share of running the Public Beta of Mac OS 10.11 with their Drobo Pro. I connect via a direct iSCSI connection and did have some issues with the device showing up when I upgraded to Yosemite last year. I ended up having to roll back my computer, which was a huge pain. Would love to avoid that this time! Would love to hear about any issues (or non-issues) people have been experiencing with this years upgrade.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-30-2015, 09:37 PM
Post: #2
RE: DroboPro & El Capitan 10.11
Update: I made the plunge and updated to El Capitan. My Drobo Pro connected via iSCSI is no longer connecting. Has anyone had any success?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-01-2015, 11:44 AM
Post: #3
RE: DroboPro & El Capitan 10.11
(09-30-2015 09:37 PM)parkds Wrote:  Update: I made the plunge and updated to El Capitan. My Drobo Pro connected via iSCSI is no longer connecting. Has anyone had any success?

I couldn't get it to work at first.

I downgraded to 2.5.2, then updated to 2.6.4 then 2.6.9.

I could never get it to work.

I downloaded the beta for an iSCSI initiator software from GlobalSAN
Global SAN
$89 purchase for a Free OSX upgrade. I'm kicking myself, I know better.


I now have my Drobo Elite up and running, but no access to the Drobo Dashboard.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-01-2015, 01:20 PM
Post: #4
RE: DroboPro & El Capitan 10.11
(10-01-2015 11:44 AM)dwilasnd Wrote:  
(09-30-2015 09:37 PM)parkds Wrote:  Update: I made the plunge and updated to El Capitan. My Drobo Pro connected via iSCSI is no longer connecting. Has anyone had any success?

I couldn't get it to work at first.

I downgraded to 2.5.2, then updated to 2.6.4 then 2.6.9.

I could never get it to work.

I downloaded the beta for an iSCSI initiator software from GlobalSAN
Global SAN
$89 purchase for a Free OSX upgrade. I'm kicking myself, I know better.
Did you do the free trail first or purchase. I am using the free trial but can not figure out how to get it working. But it's probably me

I now have my Drobo Elite up and running, but no access to the Drobo Dashboard.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-01-2015, 01:30 PM (This post was last modified: 10-01-2015 01:32 PM by dwilasnd.)
Post: #5
RE: DroboPro & El Capitan 10.11
(10-01-2015 01:20 PM)wpcrumbley@aol.com Wrote:  
(10-01-2015 11:44 AM)dwilasnd Wrote:  
(09-30-2015 09:37 PM)parkds Wrote:  Update: I made the plunge and updated to El Capitan. My Drobo Pro connected via iSCSI is no longer connecting. Has anyone had any success?

I couldn't get it to work at first.

I downgraded to 2.5.2, then updated to 2.6.4 then 2.6.9.

I could never get it to work.

I downloaded the beta for an iSCSI initiator software from GlobalSAN
Global SAN
$89 purchase for a Free OSX upgrade. I'm kicking myself, I know better.
Did you do the free trail first or purchase. I am using the free trial but can not figure out how to get it working. But it's probably me

I now have my Drobo Elite up and running, but no access to the Drobo Dashboard.

I did the free trial for now. I am going to wait the 14 days and see if Drobo fixes anything.

Install package.
Go to settings.
Click on GlobalSAN
On the left in the middle there will be a + / - sign, click that. Dropdown for new target
Name it (i used Drobo since that was what it was named before.)
Select the entry you just made, then click on initiator
Fill in the Alias with Drobo (or whatever the name is)
Under connections there is a +/-, Click the plus, put in the IP address of the Drobo iSCSI ports (find them from connecting via USB if needed)
Then there is a connect button on the bottom right.
You will not see it in Drobo Dashboard once you remove the USB cord. But an icon will come up, named Drobo (for me).

Until you buy, you won't be able to click PERSISTANT, so you will have to reclick connect if you reboot.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-01-2015, 07:31 PM
Post: #6
RE: DroboPro & El Capitan 10.11
(10-01-2015 01:30 PM)dwilasnd Wrote:  
(10-01-2015 01:20 PM)wpcrumbley@aol.com Wrote:  
(10-01-2015 11:44 AM)dwilasnd Wrote:  
(09-30-2015 09:37 PM)parkds Wrote:  Update: I made the plunge and updated to El Capitan. My Drobo Pro connected via iSCSI is no longer connecting. Has anyone had any success?

I couldn't get it to work at first.

I downgraded to 2.5.2, then updated to 2.6.4 then 2.6.9.

I could never get it to work.

I downloaded the beta for an iSCSI initiator software from GlobalSAN
Global SAN
$89 purchase for a Free OSX upgrade. I'm kicking myself, I know better.
Did you do the free trail first or purchase. I am using the free trial but can not figure out how to get it working. But it's probably me

I now have my Drobo Elite up and running, but no access to the Drobo Dashboard.

I did the free trial for now. I am going to wait the 14 days and see if Drobo fixes anything.

Install package.
Go to settings.
Click on GlobalSAN
On the left in the middle there will be a + / - sign, click that. Dropdown for new target
Name it (i used Drobo since that was what it was named before.)
Select the entry you just made, then click on initiator
Fill in the Alias with Drobo (or whatever the name is)
Under connections there is a +/-, Click the plus, put in the IP address of the Drobo iSCSI ports (find them from connecting via USB if needed)
Then there is a connect button on the bottom right.
You will not see it in Drobo Dashboard once you remove the USB cord. But an icon will come up, named Drobo (for me).

Until you buy, you won't be able to click PERSISTANT, so you will have to reclick connect if you reboot.

Fantastic. Thanks for the info. Im hoping i could rack brain a little more. What do you have ip address for under the drobo and what do you have ip address under ethernet settings of mac. I just had default under drobo which was 169.254.2.0 and under ethernet settings on mac i just used dhcp and it gave it an address like 169.254.77.112
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-01-2015, 09:48 PM
Post: #7
RE: DroboPro & El Capitan 10.11
Drobo has posted an update on El Capitan compatibility. Regarding iSCSI they state:
Quote:Note: For ISCSI users: ATTO scheduled to release update v3.50 for El Capitan on Oct. 01, 2015.
Is this an update we can obtain for the iSCSI initiator, or do we need we need to wait for Drobo to bundle it into an update to the Drobo Dashboard?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-02-2015, 10:00 AM (This post was last modified: 10-02-2015 10:31 AM by dwilasnd.)
Post: #8
RE: DroboPro & El Capitan 10.11
(10-01-2015 09:48 PM)parkds Wrote:  Drobo has posted an update on El Capitan compatibility. Regarding iSCSI they state:
Quote:Note: For ISCSI users: ATTO scheduled to release update v3.50 for El Capitan on Oct. 01, 2015.
Is this an update we can obtain for the iSCSI initiator, or do we need we need to wait for Drobo to bundle it into an update to the Drobo Dashboard?

I am not hopeful, the contract for the ATTO driver expired. I wonder if ATTO will update the Drobo version since they aren't licensing it anymore. There is an update on the ATTO site, but it asks for a license file to update the 3.5 version. We don't have the license file since it came bundled.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-02-2015, 12:10 PM
Post: #9
RE: DroboPro & El Capitan 10.11
(10-02-2015 10:00 AM)dwilasnd Wrote:  
(10-01-2015 09:48 PM)parkds Wrote:  Drobo has posted an update on El Capitan compatibility. Regarding iSCSI they state:
Quote:Note: For ISCSI users: ATTO scheduled to release update v3.50 for El Capitan on Oct. 01, 2015.
Is this an update we can obtain for the iSCSI initiator, or do we need we need to wait for Drobo to bundle it into an update to the Drobo Dashboard?

I am not hopeful, the contract for the ATTO driver expired. I wonder if ATTO will update the Drobo version since they aren't licensing it anymore. There is an update on the ATTO site, but it asks for a license file to update the 3.5 version. We don't have the license file since it came bundled.


I am not sure that the note that Drobo posted about ATTO releasing an update meant that we would automatically get a new version of it bundled in Drobo Dashboard. I assume they meant, if you bought an independent copy of the iSCSI initiator it will be getting an update.

After using the Java-based install-the-old-dashboard-then-upgrade method I was hoping to go the cheapest route to get iSCSI back but Ive been giving GlobalSANs offering a try and while I can get the Drobo's Volumes to mount I can't get the dashboard to see them. Not sure how that works given that iSCSI is obviously initiated since I can mount the volumes?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-02-2015, 12:50 PM
Post: #10
RE: DroboPro & El Capitan 10.11
So based on Drobo's comments regarding version 3.5 of the ATTO iSCSI initiator and the expired contract, is the only path forward for us Drobo Pro users on El Capitan to purchase an initiator?

Is it correct that nobody has been able to successfully connect via iSCSI after upgrading to El Capitan without using 3rd party software?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Forum Jump: