Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 1 Votes - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Broken FS - Is there any hope?
12-11-2015, 01:22 PM
Post: #21
RE: Broken FS - Is there any hope?
well done for quickly fixing your issue Smile

(btw i have XP home SP2, a Drobo v1 with 2x 1TB/2x 1.5TB WD greens, & a bkp Drobo v2 with the same + a DroboShare: unused)
& a DroboS v2 with 3xWD15EADS &2x1TB in DDR mode on win7, & a drobo5D (all usb)
  • btw i did a sustained (write) operation for about 6 hours, and got 13.2MB / sec ...objection? "sustained" :)
    (16.7MB/s on a v2 & 47-96MB/s drobo-s)
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-20-2016, 06:26 AM (This post was last modified: 05-20-2016 07:12 AM by fransinsg.)
Post: #22
RE: Broken FS - Is there any hope?
I need some help with this. I'm using SSH in Terminal (Mac) as I don't have access to Putty. However, I'd like to know. Is it essential to have the ttl connection running during start up or can I just let it run while I figure out what commands I need to do for ssh to figure out what the hell is going on with my drobo?

Update:

everything is running in terminal and I have a different issue some might be able to help me with.

My Drobo seems to have a DHCP issue.

I'm copying the log file I captured below:

VFP support v0.3: implementor 41 architecture 1 part 10 variant 9 rev 0
eth0: started
IP-Config: Guessing netmask 255.255.0.0
IP-Config: Complete:
device=eth0, addr=169.254.1.0, mask=255.255.0.0, gw=255.255.255.255,
host=DB78xx0, domain=, nis-domain=(none),
bootserver=169.254.123.234, rootserver=169.254.123.234, rootpath=
VFS: Mounted root (jffs2 filesystem).
Freeing init memory: 108K
SUCCESS: mounted /dev/mtdblock/2 at /var
MTUSize: 9000
killall: udhcpc: no process killed
true
INFO: Found valid static config. Setting STATIC IP config.
eth0: stopped
eth0: started
eth0: change mtu 1500 (buffer-size 1536) to 9000 (buffer-size 9024)
route: SIOCDELRT: No such process
INFO: Static config setup successfully.
IP: 192.168.8.237 SUBNET: 255.255.255.0 GATEWAY: 192.168.8.8 DNS1: 192.168.8.8 DNS2: 192.168.8.8 Jumbo: mtu 9000

SHARED_MEM: CPU1: INITIALIZATION STARTED BY CPU0. WAITING ON INIT DONE
SHARED_MEM: CPU1: INITIALIZATION OF SHARED MEMORY BY CPU0 DONE DETECTED
wait_for_init_shared_mem: Exiting Mutex for shared memory init
wait_for_init_shared_mem: Entering Mutex for shared memory init
wait_for_init_shared_mem: Exiting Mutex for shared memory init
Shared Memory Partition Map Addresses:
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------
SHJ1: Start: 0xa6000000, End: 0xaa000000, Phys: 0x1bfff000
HLRC: Start: 0xab000000, End: 0xb1000000, Phys: 0x15dff000
SGLD: Start: 0xa0a00000, End: 0xa0b00000, Phys: 0x158ff000
SHLX: Start: 0xa5400000, End: 0xa5600000, Phys: 0x15bff000
SHVX: Start: 0xa5800000, End: 0xa5a00000, Phys: 0x159ff000
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------
SHARED_MEM: shm_queue_sync_cores: Mapped SHMQ partition at phys addr: 0x1bdff000 in kernel mem for size 0x200000
SHARED_MEM: CPU1: shm_queue_sync_cores: Ready to wait for init of SHMQ
SHARED_MEM: CPU1: shm_queue_sync_cores: Queue Init Started CPU0. Waiting on Init Done
SHARED_MEM: CPU1: shm_queue_sync_cores: Init of SHMQ done
handle_intercore_msg: Got Time Valid message
handle_intercore_msg: Got a NET_INFO request
handle_intercore_msg: Got ISCSI_ENABLE message
init_write_buffer: dev: 93da4400, FreeList: a6000200, FreeBlocks: 131071
handle_intercore_msg: QUEUING ISCSI_ENABLE to sysfs
scsi0 : dri_dnas, version 0.1.0 [20090720], Commands: 0, Aborts: 0, Device Resets: 0
scsi 0:0:0:0: Direct-Access DROBO DroboPro 1.00 PQ: 0 ANSI: 5
sd 0:0:0:0: [sda] 4294967295 512-byte hardware sectors (2199023 MB)
sd 0:0:0:0: [sda] Write Protect is off
sd 0:0:0:0: [sda] Write cache: enabled, read cache: enabled, supports DPO and FUA
sd 0:0:0:0: [sda] 4294967295 512-byte hardware sectors (2199023 MB)
sd 0:0:0:0: [sda] Write Protect is off
sd 0:0:0:0: [sda] Write cache: enabled, read cache: enabled, supports DPO and FUA
sda: unknown partition table
sd 0:0:0:0: [sda] Attached SCSI disk
sd 0:0:0:0: Attached scsi generic sg0 type 0
Date now set to: Mon Nov 29 16:01:40 PST 1999
rm: cannot remove '/var/log/fsck*': No such file or directory
Starting Log Rotate for nasd.log
# about to lock the queue
about to look for elements
about to copy the message
about to lock the queue
about to look for elements
about to copy the message
process_get_msg:NR trying to free elt: 93f2b488, cache: 93cd06e0
about to lock the queue
about to look for elements
about to unlock the queue
about to wait for completion
eth0: link up, full duplex, speed 100 Mbps
DHCP PID can't be found, ignoring link change
eth0: link down
DHCP PID can't be found, ignoring link change
eth0: link up, full duplex, speed 100 Mbps
DHCP PID can't be found, ignoring link change


Now, the Static IP config stood out. The previous owner claimed never to have set it to Static before (Though I think he might not remember)

Is this the reason the final lines (when I plug in the ethernet) is there? Should I reconfigure the settings to dynamic IP (and HOW?)

Thanks for the help in advance gents
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-20-2016, 09:20 AM (This post was last modified: 05-20-2016 09:28 AM by fransinsg.)
Post: #23
RE: Broken FS - Is there any hope?
Final update:

After forcing the IP address change with ifconfig command I plugged in a drive and connected it to the network with the UTP cable again. Once the drive was being recognised, I changed the settings in the dashboard!

basically what i did:

open Mac terminal and made sure the USB serial was recognised:
cd /dev
ls *cu*

cu.usbserial

typed in next command: screen /dev/cu.usbserial 115200

at this point terminal monitors the bus so I turn on the Drobo FS.
What happens next is the wall of text I posted before.

Once I gain control over the unit (takes like 2-3 minutes after final line is written from the init.
I type:

ifconfig eth0 192.168.0.156.

ifconfig (to check if the IP is indeed changed)

Then manually plugged in the IP in the Drobo Dashboard under Drobo search settings.

Drobo gets recognised.

I tried changing settings without drive, as it was a bit tricky to put the bays back in place with the USB serial wires running underneath, but I managed to wiggle it through, half-arsed, so the top bay was aligned at least.

I plugged in the HDD and quickly set the whole thing to DHCP.

It's fixed!

wait for the drive to be synched, then shut down the unit and put all parts back together.

One thing though, we need an easier solution for this than having to use the USB to serial pins on the PCB in the future.

Not sure how to fix this from a user interface perspective.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
02-05-2017, 12:09 AM (This post was last modified: 02-05-2017 12:09 AM by jsmith032.)
Post: #24
RE: Broken FS - Is there any hope?
I cant seem to get my putty session to give me any output thats readable. I was having the same issue with network but all lights were green so I figured I would give this a shot. My settings are the same, using the same USB cable. Am I missing something?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
02-05-2017, 02:58 AM (This post was last modified: 02-05-2017 03:27 AM by jsmith032.)
Post: #25
RE: Broken FS - Is there any hope?
I tried a new USB to RS232 cable and got putty to work.... now on to the issue.

It looks like it has a static ip of 192.168.1.32 and an alias of an invalid IP.

I blow away all IP's with ifconfig, assign it a static IP. Can ping the static IP, reboot the drobo and it goes back to the same old IP's.

EDIT - I found the file to edit to make it a static IP (/var/network/static.conf and changed it, so that works. I opened up a new thread to see what my other issues are
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
02-06-2017, 02:20 PM
Post: #26
RE: Broken FS - Is there any hope?
(just linking to your other thread)
http://www.drobospace.com/forums/showthr...http://www.drobospace.com/forums/showthread.php?

(btw i have XP home SP2, a Drobo v1 with 2x 1TB/2x 1.5TB WD greens, & a bkp Drobo v2 with the same + a DroboShare: unused)
& a DroboS v2 with 3xWD15EADS &2x1TB in DDR mode on win7, & a drobo5D (all usb)
  • btw i did a sustained (write) operation for about 6 hours, and got 13.2MB / sec ...objection? "sustained" :)
    (16.7MB/s on a v2 & 47-96MB/s drobo-s)
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Forum Jump: