Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
non existant drobo support
12-23-2014, 12:30 AM
Post: #11
RE: non existant drobo support
Hi,

I'm not a Windows User in regards to my Drobo they are all connected to Macs.

However, I would suggest starting with a screenshot of Windows Task Manager on the Process Tab when you are experiencing this so forum users can see what processes are running at the time.

This may enable the forum to suggest closing certain applications to see if this corrects the problem.

You can also use something like Process Explorer (http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/sysin...http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/sysinternals/

You will need to do the following when it's running:

1. Menu => View => Show Lower Pane
2. Menu => View => Select Columns
2a. Select Handle Tab
2b. Check Type and Name.
2c. Select Ok

Now, when you select a Process in the Top Pane it will show you all the Handles it has open in the Lower Pane.

With any luck you will be able to find the Process which has an open handle to the Drobo Drive(s) which is preventing the Shutdown.

Then a determination needs to be made about the Process and what to do.

Regards,

Michael
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-23-2014, 01:56 AM
Post: #12
RE: non existant drobo support
hi Michael many thanks for the suggestion & instructions I will follow them once I have a screenshot I will study them to see if I can see anything that I understand would cause a problem if I cannot see anything I know about I will post it here to see if anyone here has any suggestions either way I will post the outcome. thanks regards roy
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-23-2014, 10:57 AM
Post: #13
RE: non existant drobo support
I feel your pain, justlookin. I have just had a run-in with the support folks about USB 3.0 support. I let them know that I had seen and read the information they published back in July about compatible USB3 cards. I asked if they had further info and the support troll sent me a link to the same page. WHen I explained, again, that I had read that old material and would like some fresh information the troll again only sent the same link as a response.

I am upset that I purchased a product that claims to be USB 3.0 compatible (a current industry standard) and that the company ONLY supports a handful of devices. ALL other USB3 devices I have work fine and at fully documented speed on the interface I have that my Drobo 5D will not acknowledge.

I too will not be able to continue to recommend or purchase any Drobo product. I am amazed that they switched from eSATA to USB3 if is not usable by customers.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-23-2014, 10:57 AM
Post: #14
RE: non existant drobo support
I feel your pain, justlookin. I have just had a run-in with the support folks about USB 3.0 support. I let them know that I had seen and read the information they published back in July about compatible USB3 cards. I asked if they had further info and the support troll sent me a link to the same page. WHen I explained, again, that I had read that old material and would like some fresh information the troll again only sent the same link as a response.

I am upset that I purchased a product that claims to be USB 3.0 compatible (a current industry standard) and that the company ONLY supports a handful of devices. ALL other USB3 devices I have work fine and at fully documented speed on the interface I have that my Drobo 5D will not acknowledge.

I too will not be able to continue to recommend or purchase any Drobo product. I am amazed that they switched from eSATA to USB3 if is not usable by customers.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-24-2014, 03:04 AM
Post: #15
RE: non existant drobo support
hi ghutch it seems to be windows 7 64bit most are complaining about is that what you are using I will be trying what michael kindly suggested soon as I get an hour so watch this space. would be nice if we could get all drobo usb3 sufferers talking on the same thread
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-24-2014, 05:30 AM
Post: #16
RE: non existant drobo support
Yes, Win7 64-bit.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-24-2014, 08:49 AM
Post: #17
RE: non existant drobo support
there are are owners all over the place having problems

http://paulcaldwellphotography.com/09221...http://paulcaldwellphotography.com/092213-drobo-5d-firmware-update-3-0-8-problems-with-windows

http://www.blackrimglasses.com/2008/09/0...http://www.blackrimglasses.com/2008/09/02/drobo-nothing-but

http://photosofarkansas.com/tag/drobo-an...http://photosofarkansas.com/tag/drobo-and-usb3-is
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-02-2015, 05:47 AM
Post: #18
RE: non existant drobo support
having tried what michael suggested I cant see anything that seems a problem to me. I cant see how to upload an image to here for somebody else to cast an eye across it either regards roy
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-05-2015, 05:36 AM
Post: #19
RE: non existant drobo support
Have you discovered "DDSERVICE?" I just discovered it yesterday while trying to correct my USB3 problems on my own. There is a windows service that drobo installs called DDSERVICE. DDSERVICE will tie up the drobo disk device(s) and will not allow you to remove hardware. If DDSERVICE will not allow a removal it might also tie them up enough to not allow the drobo to goto sleep.

Try this, if you have not already. Start task manager and select the Services tab. Find DDSERVICE in the name list. Right click on the service and select "Stop Service." You will loose drobo desktop controller but it will allow you to remove the disk(s) and might allow it to goto sleep.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-05-2015, 05:36 AM
Post: #20
RE: non existant drobo support
Have you discovered "DDSERVICE?" I just discovered it yesterday while trying to correct my USB3 problems on my own. There is a windows service that drobo installs called DDSERVICE. DDSERVICE will tie up the drobo disk device(s) and will not allow you to remove hardware. If DDSERVICE will not allow a removal it might also tie them up enough to not allow the drobo to goto sleep.

Try this, if you have not already. Start task manager and select the Services tab. Find DDSERVICE in the name list. Right click on the service and select "Stop Service." You will loose drobo desktop controller but it will allow you to remove the disk(s) and might allow it to goto sleep.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Forum Jump: