Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Drobo 5D USB 3.0 issues pls help
12-12-2013, 12:08 AM
Post: #1
Exclamation Drobo 5D USB 3.0 issues pls help
I am having problems with my Drobo 5d. Its brand new only three days old.

The problem is when ever i use to plug my drobo in a USB 3.0 port my computer cant detect it but the LED lights when i plug in on the 3.0 port..

If i plug it on a USB 2.0 port it works perfectly.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-12-2013, 12:11 AM
Post: #2
RE: Drobo 5D USB 3.0 issues pls help
1) does your USB 3 port with other USB 3 peripherals?

2) Can you try a different USB 3 cable?

3) then your drobo may be faulty, telephone support

My Avatar is my Panther Chameleon named 'Leon.

I have a owned a Drobo v1, v2, DroboPro, Drobo 5D, DroboFS, Drobo 5N and DroboPro FS

I currently have a Windows 2016 Server with 8 x 8TB Seagate Archive Drives, 14 x 8TB WD Red and 3 x 8TB WD Gold
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-12-2013, 11:17 AM
Post: #3
RE: Drobo 5D USB 3.0 issues pls help
Your USB3 cable , provided with the Drobo, is most probably bad. I'm having right know exactly fhe same problem on my _ also_ brand new Drobo 5D. Device works perfectly with TB but USB3 cable will work only as USB2.
Just ask for another one
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-13-2013, 01:52 PM (This post was last modified: 12-13-2013 01:52 PM by DSLAM.)
Post: #4
RE: Drobo 5D USB 3.0 issues pls help
My new Drobo 5D works on the USB 3.0 port but only at USB 2.0 speeds. I tried switching out with a different cable but the same results. I have the USB 3.0 controller card updated with the latest drivers and also the latest firmware, but still the same.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-13-2013, 04:45 PM
Post: #5
RE: Drobo 5D USB 3.0 issues pls help
(12-13-2013 01:52 PM)DSLAM Wrote:  My new Drobo 5D works on the USB 3.0 port but only at USB 2.0 speeds. I tried switching out with a different cable but the same results. I have the USB 3.0 controller card updated with the latest drivers and also the latest firmware, but still the same.
Just to be 100% sure, the cable is going straight from the 5D to the USB 3.0 port on the card, yes?

--Brandon | WHS2011+Drive Bender/2x Drobo v2/Drobo S G1/ Drobo S G2/Transporter
Drobo provides fault-tolerance, it's NOT a substitute for regular backups.
Drobo Best Practices - Official and Community-sourced.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-13-2013, 05:57 PM
Post: #6
RE: Drobo 5D USB 3.0 issues pls help
(12-13-2013 04:45 PM)bhiga Wrote:  
(12-13-2013 01:52 PM)DSLAM Wrote:  My new Drobo 5D works on the USB 3.0 port but only at USB 2.0 speeds. I tried switching out with a different cable but the same results. I have the USB 3.0 controller card updated with the latest drivers and also the latest firmware, but still the same.
Just to be 100% sure, the cable is going straight from the 5D to the USB 3.0 port on the card, yes?
Well, not quite. It's going to a USB 3.0 female extender cable which plugs into the card. But it is most definitely USB 3.0 all the way through.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-15-2013, 02:38 PM
Post: #7
RE: Drobo 5D USB 3.0 issues pls help
My 2 week old Drobo 5D was working perfectly until it went into standby mode last night and would not get recognized anymore by Windows 8.1.

I tried 3 different USB 3.0 cables and Windows 8.1 still would not recognize the Drobo 5D on any of my 6 USB 3.0 Ports.

Drobo is send me a new unit.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-16-2013, 08:02 AM
Post: #8
RE: Drobo 5D USB 3.0 issues pls help
hi dslam, have you been able to try it without the extender cable?
(eg to try a direct connection, to see if it works more quickly that way as a test)

it might need a bit of device shuffling, and moving things around a bit on your table to make it reach, but its worth the test i think.

(btw i have XP home SP2, a Drobo v1 with 2x 1TB/2x 1.5TB WD greens, & a bkp Drobo v2 with the same + a DroboShare: unused)
& a DroboS v2 with 3xWD15EADS &2x1TB in DDR mode on win7, & a drobo5D (all usb)
  • btw i did a sustained (write) operation for about 6 hours, and got 13.2MB / sec ...objection? "sustained" :)
    (16.7MB/s on a v2 & 47-96MB/s drobo-s)
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-16-2013, 08:02 AM (This post was last modified: 12-16-2013 08:04 AM by Paul.)
Post: #9
RE: Drobo 5D USB 3.0 issues pls help
hi bryjosh,

when you get a chance, can you give us any more info about your computer?
which model / which make etc?
as it might be useful

(btw i have XP home SP2, a Drobo v1 with 2x 1TB/2x 1.5TB WD greens, & a bkp Drobo v2 with the same + a DroboShare: unused)
& a DroboS v2 with 3xWD15EADS &2x1TB in DDR mode on win7, & a drobo5D (all usb)
  • btw i did a sustained (write) operation for about 6 hours, and got 13.2MB / sec ...objection? "sustained" :)
    (16.7MB/s on a v2 & 47-96MB/s drobo-s)
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-16-2013, 02:28 PM
Post: #10
RE: Drobo 5D USB 3.0 issues pls help
(12-16-2013 08:02 AM)Paul Wrote:  hi dslam, have you been able to try it without the extender cable?
(eg to try a direct connection, to see if it works more quickly that way as a test)

it might need a bit of device shuffling, and moving things around a bit on your table to make it reach, but its worth the test i think.

Well this is an internal card, so you have to have some connector going to a port jack, just like any computer or laptop. Here it is: http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B009WN7...http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B009WN7SQA/ref=oh_details_o07_s00_i01?ie=
I've actually tried two different ones in addition to the two different USB 3.0 cables but it is the same behavior with the Drobo. Also, I have connected other USB 3.0 external drives like from Seagate and they all work perfectly at the USB 3.0 speeds and are recognized at USB 3.0 speeds. I used Parkdale to do test to confirm it.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Forum Jump: