Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Installing DroboMini
10-03-2013, 12:21 PM (This post was last modified: 10-03-2013 12:25 PM by frosty.)
Post: #1
Question Installing DroboMini
On Monday I set up a new DroboMini with new drives, formatted it using the Drobo Dashboard and everything seemed to be working well on a new Windows 8 installation.

This morning I plug in the Drobo Mini (USB 3 connection) and Windows has frozen on a "Device Setup/Installing DroboMini/Please wait while Setup installs necessary files on your system. This may take several minutes." message. That process appears hung, since it's been 30+ minutes with no movement on the progress bar.

Have any of you seen something like this? What should I do?

[L]
I cancelled that Window. Drobo Dashboard reports that health is "good".

This doesn't leave me feeling comfortable...

[L]
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-03-2013, 03:12 PM
Post: #2
RE: Installing DroboMini
Sometimes when other component installs are required (.NET Framework, etc) - a prompt can appear behind other windows or off-screen. Alt-Tab to see if there's something hidden.

--Brandon | WHS2011+Drive Bender/2x Drobo v2/Drobo S G1/ Drobo S G2/Transporter
Drobo provides fault-tolerance, it's NOT a substitute for regular backups.
Drobo Best Practices - Official and Community-sourced.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-03-2013, 03:43 PM
Post: #3
RE: Installing DroboMini
There was nothing hidden. And other ideas?

[L]
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-03-2013, 03:52 PM
Post: #4
RE: Installing DroboMini
Not sure... Perhaps right-click the Setup file and Run as Administrator? That's often required for things that want to access hardware.

--Brandon | WHS2011+Drive Bender/2x Drobo v2/Drobo S G1/ Drobo S G2/Transporter
Drobo provides fault-tolerance, it's NOT a substitute for regular backups.
Drobo Best Practices - Official and Community-sourced.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-03-2013, 05:50 PM
Post: #5
RE: Installing DroboMini
hmm, i havent tried a mini, but on win7 with my drobo-s, the only thing that sometimes pops up is an error from Dashboard, as it tried to connect to the drobo service i forgot to start.

then it half quits and tries to load but it cant proceed until i manually start the service.
(im not sure how win8 works, but ive heard all sorts of flaky stories with it not being a full o/s or something)

if you have a look if you can get into services.msc (or from task manager) to see in case the service (likely DDService.exe) is running, and then if so, plug in the mini - does that get any further?

have you tried another usb port just as a test?
when i used other products (such as a wireless usb, or another usb storage device) it would try to install/prepare the same drivers, just because i happened to plug it into a 'different' port than the one i initially used.

if windows plays up a bit, try restarting the computer too, especially windows 8.
let us know how it goes when you can, and once its working again, probably a good idea to run a scandisk on it (or chkdsk if thats in win8)


(sometimes if you use a port blocker to lock down your system, it might interfere too)

(btw i have XP home SP2, a Drobo v1 with 2x 1TB/2x 1.5TB WD greens, & a bkp Drobo v2 with the same + a DroboShare: unused)
& a DroboS v2 with 3xWD15EADS &2x1TB in DDR mode on win7, & a drobo5D (all usb)
  • btw i did a sustained (write) operation for about 6 hours, and got 13.2MB / sec ...objection? "sustained" :)
    (16.7MB/s on a v2 & 47-96MB/s drobo-s)
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-04-2013, 03:05 PM (This post was last modified: 10-04-2013 03:21 PM by Zbig.)
Post: #6
RE: Installing DroboMini
(10-03-2013 05:50 PM)Paul Wrote:  [..]
(im not sure how win8 works, but ive heard all sorts of flaky stories with it not being a full o/s or something)
[..]

Where's the double-facepalm smiley?
@Frosty, I think that could be Windows trying (and failing) to look for updated device drivers over the Internet. You can take a look at the Drobo item in the Device Manager and see if there are any problems reported. You could also retry the automatic update from the right-click menu.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-06-2013, 09:04 AM (This post was last modified: 10-06-2013 09:04 AM by Paul.)
Post: #7
RE: Installing DroboMini
thanks for the friendly reminder that i might have made an 'oops' Smile

i was probably thinking of the flavour of win8 which is the RT edition

(btw i have XP home SP2, a Drobo v1 with 2x 1TB/2x 1.5TB WD greens, & a bkp Drobo v2 with the same + a DroboShare: unused)
& a DroboS v2 with 3xWD15EADS &2x1TB in DDR mode on win7, & a drobo5D (all usb)
  • btw i did a sustained (write) operation for about 6 hours, and got 13.2MB / sec ...objection? "sustained" :)
    (16.7MB/s on a v2 & 47-96MB/s drobo-s)
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Forum Jump: