Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 6 Votes - 3.83 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Time Machine and FS
04-23-2010, 02:56 PM
Post: #1
Time Machine and FS
Note: As of this writing, Apple has released OS X 10.6.3. All Drobo direct attached products (Drobo, Drobo S, DroboPro, and DroboElite) are fully compatible with Apple Time Machine when using Mac OS 10.6.2 and lower. Apple introduced changes in Mac OS 10.6.3 that resets the maximum size of sparse images to the size of the volume. This behavior is undesirable when used with storage devices such as Drobo storage arrays that support thin provisioning, as the reported volume size often exceeds the physical storage space available.

Data Robotics is aware of the issue and is working on firmware changes to ensure compatibility with Mac OS X 10.6.3 and higher. Until a fix is released, we do not support Time Machine on Drobo FS in a OS X 10.6.3 environment.

For Drobo FS customers running OS X 10.6.2 or earlier, please do the following to set up Time Machine:

1. Open Terminal in the Utilities folder:

2. Cut and paste (or type) the following command in the Terminal window:
defaults write com.apple.systempreferences TMShowUnsupportedNetworkVolumes 1

3. In Drobo Dashboard, create a share that will be dedicated to Time Machine: Advanced Controls -> Tools ->Settings -> Shares.

4. Verify that the new share is mounted, using Drobo Dashboard, version 1.7.x or later.

5. Download the DroboApp "Time Tamer" from: http://www.drobo.com/droboapps/downloads/.

6. Install and run the Time Tamer application, selecting the share you created for your Time Machine backups.

7. Open Time Machine and click Select Disk.

8. Select the share you created specifically for the Time Machine backups on your Drobo FS .

Time Machine should now work as expected with your Drobo FS.

Jennifer "It's Control + check for updates"
Data Robotics Moderator
Support # 1-866-426-4280, Mon-Fri from 6am-6pm PST
Best Practices http://www.drobo.com/support/best_practices.php
Knowledge Base http://www.drobo.com/support/knowledgebase.php
To Open a Support Case: http://support.datarobotics.com/app/utils/login_form
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-26-2010, 11:43 AM
Post: #2
RE: Time Machine and FS
BTW, we are working on a MUCH better Time Machine support. It will be out soon.

Director of Product Management
Data Robotics, Inc.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-28-2010, 11:38 AM
Post: #3
RE: Time Machine and FS
(04-23-2010 02:56 PM)Jennifer Wrote:  Apple introduced changes in Mac OS 10.6.3 that resets the maximum size of sparse images to the size of the volume.

... and thusly Apple has completely misunderstood the purpose behind sparse-files in the first place.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-04-2010, 01:34 AM
Post: #4
RE: Time Machine and FS
(04-26-2010 11:43 AM)Dave Wrote:  BTW, we are working on a MUCH better Time Machine support. It will be out soon.

Will all drobos be supported? Any ETA? Just upgraded to 10.6.3 and I think I just hosed my sparebundle Sad

Now trying to set up the drobo with partitions and hopefully be able to use Time Machine that way ...
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-05-2010, 08:40 AM (This post was last modified: 05-05-2010 11:03 AM by welchb.)
Post: #5
RE: Time Machine and FS
(04-26-2010 11:43 AM)Dave Wrote:  BTW, we are working on a MUCH better Time Machine support. It will be out soon.

I just purchased a DroboFS and am pretty disappointed that I cannot use it with TimeMachine - the entire reason I purchased the unit in the first place.

Will this thread be updated when y'all are able to fix the resetting sparsebundle size problem that apple changed? (Subscribing to the thread now in hopes that this is the case.)

Thanks for working on it,

-bw
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-05-2010, 11:02 AM
Post: #6
RE: Time Machine and FS
Yes, I will update this thread when there is an update.

Jennifer "It's Control + check for updates"
Data Robotics Moderator
Support # 1-866-426-4280, Mon-Fri from 6am-6pm PST
Best Practices http://www.drobo.com/support/best_practices.php
Knowledge Base http://www.drobo.com/support/knowledgebase.php
To Open a Support Case: http://support.datarobotics.com/app/utils/login_form
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-05-2010, 11:17 AM
Post: #7
RE: Time Machine and FS
Great, thanks Jennifer.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-14-2010, 11:19 PM
Post: #8
RE: Time Machine and FS
Do you have any recommended methods for backing up home systems until you complete the Time-Machine support?

Are you updating the netatalk package to version 2.05 or maybe 2.1? Would love to see that.

-Dave
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-15-2010, 11:53 AM
Post: #9
RE: Time Machine and FS
I'm not sure about "official recommended" options but the program SuperDuper will create bootable image files for you - and it's actually free for home use:

http://www.shirt-pocket.com/SuperDuper/S...http://www.shirt-pocket.com/SuperDuper/SuperDuperDescri

You can also set up DroboCopy to copy over specific folder structures within the Drobo Dashboard as a like a cron job - you set up the schedule and folder, etc. I'm not sure if this copies the structure as a diff or if it attempts to do the whole structure every time.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-16-2010, 01:01 PM
Post: #10
RE: Time Machine and FS
Thanks for the response, welchb. I use rsync and rsnapshot on my linux machines but really don't want to write a how-to that my wife would understand. That is the beauty in Time Machine, ease of use and intuitive.

Super Duper looks interesting, but at first look it seems to be more of a cloning app than an incremental backup and restore app. I will dload and give it a go.

I'll test out the Drobo Copy feature. Is it file based copy? I have and use 5-6 VM images and if it copies at the file level it would trigger copying the entire set of vm images each day, 8-35GB each. I might be talking myself into just using rsync and friends until DRI rolls out the updated netatalk functions.

Cheers,
Dave
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Forum Jump: